A Surprise in the Paper

It was Sunday morning, my day off, and I had woken up late. I was feeling so good after the show last night that I stayed at the club for a few hours and had some drinks. I got home later than usual and passed out with my clothes still on. I peeled off my clothes, set the coffee machine to brew and stepped into the shower. It felt good to wash the club out of my hair and let my muscles relax under the hot water. I kept thinking about the performance last night, it had gone better than I even expected, it felt the way it used to when it was all still new to me.

I finished showering, threw on my robe and grabbed a nice big cup of coffee. Coffee is one of my biggest vices and I like it strong and dark. I grabbed the morning paper from my front door. It was an unusually large weekend edition. I sat down in my favorite chair and set my coffee down on the table. I pulled out the only section of the paper I ever really read, the entertainment section, and looked through the reviews. It was the typical stuff, reviews of the big shows, a few small shows, a couple plays but then something caught my eye. It was a photo of the club, that guy with the notepad was a reviewer for the paper and he actually wrote about our show.

Here is a small excerpt:
“Over all, the show was well structured with shorter acts in the beginning building up to longer and more complex numbers. While most drag shows tend to play off of the novelty and gaudiness of the genre, this show was thankfully quite professional. I found the earlier acts entertaining but I found that the final act nearly erased all memory of the preceding numbers.

The final act was a burlesque number performed as a solo by one particular “actress” who, I am told, is their top drag queen. Her outfit was stunning, a mixture of vintage burlesque and Vegas glam, consisting of a red sequin dress and an amazing headdress. What really stood out was the way the act progressed. Slow and cool, with a confident air, she built up the performance in time with the music as she removed a few layers of her outfit. I’ve seen drag shows before but I’ve never seen anything as professional, entertaining and alluring as this final act.”

I couldn’t believe it! Not only did a major reviewer come to our show but he thought that my act was so great he almost forgot about the rest of the show. Most importantly, he noticed my outfit which, as any drag performer will tell you, is a major part of the show. I’ve done a lot in my life but finding this review in the paper was definitely a highlight of my career to date.

Leave a comment