Headdresses and High Praise

It was a few days after the review in the paper.  I was still feeling high from being so well noticed and was on my way to the club for rehearsal.  This new number we were working on was going to call for a very special headdress.  Luckily, I happen to have one of the largest collections of headdresses these girls have ever seen. 

Everything in my collection is premium quality stuff, it’s expensive but it’s worth it.  Some people have told me that I have too many outfits.  As ridiculous as that always sounds, I suppose I can be a bit of a collector, sometimes I see something and I simply must have it.

While I do love all of my outfits, and they’re a necessary part of being a performer, I will admit that lugging them to the club and back can be rather burdensome.  I had a particularly large amount of stuff to bring this time so I caught a taxi on the corner.  There was some traffic so I took the opportunity to check my emails on my phone.  It turns out that more than a few of my friends had noticed the review.  It was all mostly congratulations but there were a few obvious touches of jealousy.  I don’t mind jealousy, especially when it’s well deserved.

The cab pulled up in front of the club and I headed for the back entrance.  As soon as I walked in, one of the girls ran up to me, giddy and bubbling like a teenager, holding a copy of the review in her hand.

“Can you believe it?” She said

“Of course” I responded with a sly smile.

As I made my way to the dressing room I fielded a few compliments from the guys and shared some more excitement with a few of the girls.  The dressing room was more active than usual.  The girls weren’t busy getting dressed as much as they were all reading the review together and making quite a racket.  Ginger, however, was sitting at the end of the dressing room in her normal spot applying some makeup.  It was quite obvious that she was trying pretending to be disinterested in the article.

The girls saw me and ran up to me, I took the chance to hand them some of my bags.  They were so excited you’d think it was Christmas.  They kept reading lines from the review and asking me if I read it.  I must admit, I did enjoy the attention and didn’t bother holding back a good smile.  I told them to get to the end and read it out loud.  As they did, I placed my headdress at my table and watched Ginger as she listened.  When they had reached the part of the review that talked about me, Ginger threw down her make up pencil, closed her kit with a loud bang and pushed her way through us as she stormed out of the dressing room.  I guess some people just can’t praise like others.

Leave a comment